our vestry

Our lay leaders are our Vestry and Wardens, who are elected by the congregation. Primary leadership of the congregation is shared by the Senior Priest, the Senior Warden, and the Parish Director of Operations, under the continuing oversight of the Bishop. This is a different model from most Episcopal churches, where a priest with the title of Rector holds almost all authority.

Our Vestry

The Wardens and Vestry have ultimate authority and responsibility for the governance of the church, including the responsibility for parish property and financial affairs. In collaboration with the Senior Priest, the Wardens and Vestry are responsible for developing and executing policies that promote the church’s mission through worship, education, social action and service.

The Vestry’s Responsibilities

Leadership: primary responsibility for finance, the building, outreach, and parish life. While mission, outreach, evangelism, and stewardship are the responsibility of the whole congregation, it is expected that the Vestry and Senior Warden, in consultation with the Senior Priest, will guide and coordinate the congregation’s efforts in these areas.

Finances: Responsible for the financial affairs of the Parish. Approve annual budget and monitor its implementation. Responsible for the property of the Parish.

The Senior Warden’s Responsibilities

Leadership: With Senior Priest and Vestry guidance, collaborate to set clear vision with short-term and long-term goals for ministry and witness.

Vestry: Set annual calendar for vestry meetings and retreat. Set agenda for each meeting in consultation with the Senior Priest. Chair meetings. Communicate vestry decisions to the parish.

Finance: Appoint Treasurer and others as needed. With others, plan and implement fiscal planning and fundraising. With Parish Director of Operations, establish budget-building process. Nominate Stewardship chair.

Current Members of the Vestry

Senior Warden: Sandra Moore

Junior Warden: Laura Moye

Secretary: Brede Eschliman

Treasurer: Brian Maney

Maria Acuna

Tricia Davis-Muffett

Boris de Paz

Gay Gellhorn

Ty Holden

James Laws

The Rev. Sam Dessórdi Leité

Michele Lewis

Teresa Montoya

Louise Yinug

1525 Newton St NW
Washington, DC 20010
(202) 232-0900

@2018 by St. Stephen & the Incarnation Episcopal Church. Created with wix.com


8:00 y 10:30 am (Inglés)

5:30 pm Misa Alegría (Español)